Babci's Blog



Week 10: #20, 21, 22, 23

#20 – I did check out Twitter. This is really of no interest to me at this time. I searched for a couple of things of interest, didn’t find any comments outstanding or worth my time, so I ended that. This is one thing I don’t understand the interest in or the benefit from.

#21 – I checked out FriendFind. This seemed to be something that any organization could use. This appears to be a way to get information about library schedules, program changes and announcements out quickly. If a storytime needed to be cancelled, post it here; a new author will be in to give a talk; right here. Staff could also use this site for planning, scheduling, etc.

#22 – Some libraries in my area have MySpace and Facebook accounts. It is a great way to profile your organization or group. Adding “friends” who are more than just “driving by” or are trying to accumulate “hits” is a good way to get your message out, to show the world (truly) who and what you are and what you can offer them. I like this as a quick way to get yourself known.

#23 – I’m glad I took this course. It showed me that I knew more than I thought I did and that there is a great deal more for me to learn. I do now have a Flickr and a Bloglines account. I don’t see myself using the Flickr account much, but I will continue use with the Bloglines account. There is a certain amount of vacillation between what I like and don’t like, but that’s Ok. Part of the filtering process, I suppose. My understanding of Twitter and various social networking sites has been enhanced. Thank you for the opportunity.


Leave a comment